Marathon Training, Week 1

Standard

Five years ago I started training to run the Disney marathon. I never got past the second week of the training program before those plans got derailed by news of my pregnancy. For five years the thoughts of finishing have gnawed at me from the back of my mind. Finally, this year I decided that it was time to try again.

I purchased some new running gear like some cute shirts, a Fuel Belt, and a Garmin Forerunner as I prepared my mind and body for what would lie ahead. It was going to bs a long road, but I was ready and prepared to look cute along the way.

I started with an extra training week before my official training program began. I am in above average shape and very active, but I have not been running as regularly as I should. The first three days of three mile runs felt great. And then suddenly I ended up sick before my first long run. Well, it was only going to be 4 miles, but still. I was only one week in and passed out for days with strep. I was mad that my body was not doing what I needed it to do and frustrated that my training was already off schedule. And then as the sick haze started to fade, I got a little more perspective. I have already changed my schedule to give my body what it needs. Plus, I know there are going to be bumps on the way to the marathon. I may need to be more flexible with the training schedule, I may get sick, and I may get injured along the way. What is going to matter the most is how I handle the setbacks and how I plan to keep moving forward through them. So, I missed that one run and am moving on. I moved today’s 3 miles to Tuesday to get a little more rest. Tuesday I’ll try to get out and do a very slow 3 miles. I’ll do what I can, but the point is that I’ll be out there trying. And I think that is as valuable a lesson as any to learn in week one.

Leave a Reply

