The first 15

Standard

Today was my first 15 mile run. Yes, it is less than 2 miles more than a run which gave me no problem. But it is also one of the four longest runs before the marathon. I wish I could say it was easy and gave me confidence going forward with training. Unfortunately, it was far from that.

First, it was hot here for mid-November. It was around 60 degrees. I drank too much Gatorade early in the run which made my stomach cramp up and left me dying for some water. Lesson learned to drink water only early in the run. I also was overheating pretty bad because I just don’t sweat during a run. During the last 4 miles, I was getting the shivers and shakes from overheating. Lesson two learned was that there is no way my body will handle a warm weather marathon.

Second, I am having shoe issues I need to figure out. I love my Mizuno Wave Riders, but my triple bruised toenail gets too much trauma running in those shoes. My toes have more room in my Mizuno Wave Precisions, but they don’t quite have the cushion for these high mile days. I am not sure what to do. I ran in the Wave Inspires today, which was tough on my legs and ankles. I’m considering trying out a couple of other shoes, but it’s getting late in the game to be messing around with new shoes. Should I try the Brooks Ghost? I’ve heard good things. I don’t know.

Third, for the first time I had some chafing issues. On the underside of the girls. Ouch. Totally taken off guard. Bodyglide the boobies next time.

Fourth, honestly by mile 12 I was ready to give up. My legs and butt were so sore. My stomach was aching. I started to think about the marathon and doubt that I have it in me. I wanted to quit. I stopped and walked up a hill and then continued on. I don’t know if it is true, but I convinced myself to trust the training plan and that when I recovered I would come back stronger and better able to handle the distance next week. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

