A Semester of Marathon Training

Standard

As I sit here watching my students struggle through their final exam, two things come to mind.  First, I am really glad I am the one giving the exam and not taking the exam.  After four years of undergrad, three years in two masters programs, and four years in a Ph.D. program I am seriously over exams.  I still remember the feeling of elation after completing my last final exam.  I don’t know how some of my older students do it.  Frankly, I think I am now too old for all of that.  Second, I realized that I started this marathon quest a couple of weeks into the fall semester.  And now here at the end, I am at the peak of training and ready to complete the whole 26.2 miles before the start of the spring semester.  It’s funny to me how a marathon training program and a semester are about the same length.  I guess that’s the length of time it takes you to really teach your mind and body a new way of thinking or performing.  This semester has really flown by, and when I think about where I started and where I am now I am just grateful.  I am grateful that I have managed to make it this far.  I am grateful for the ways my body has recovered and adapted.  I am grateful that after only minimal foot pain during today’s easy run I don’t think I will be sidelined by this injury.  Still working hard for my marathon final exam…the goal is within sight now.

Leave a Reply

