Your First Race

Standard

Today I got to run along with a friend from work as she completed her first 5k race.  She has not been running for long, and this was a big accomplishment for her that I was glad to be a part of.  For the record, we even got across the line just under her goal time.  Woo-hoo!  I’m not new to running at all, but I am still a bit of a newbie when it comes to races.  But for me it was fun to be a part of the excitement and see the race from a different perspective.  Plus, there is nothing like your first race.  You always remember it.  Hopefully it is a good experience and you want to do it again.  If you hated it, you probably would not be reading this anyway.  For many of us, it is the day we realize how fun it is to be with other runners, to feed off the energy, and feel like we have earned the right to call ourselves by the name “runner”.

This got me thinking back to my first race.  Well, I was running on track teams from the time I was like 8 years old running the 100m, 200m, and 400m.  So, I’m really talking about my first race longer than a mile…my first 5k race.  I ran it during my senior year at the University of Delaware along with a bunch of guys who were also in Army ROTC with me.  We ran in our Army PT shirts, camo pants, and sneakers.  We ran in formation singing cadences.  I had little concept of the distance or time.  I only remember the experience and how much fun we had.  I still have my race bib saved from that day.

Do you remember your first race?

Leave a Reply

