First Week of Homeschool

Standard

I don’t know if Brilliant B was just so excited by the newness of homeschool or what, but the first week was easier than I ever could have imagined it would be.  Other than my exhaustion (which is not uncommon anyway), we had zero difficulties in the first week.  It was like Brilliant B was made for homeschooling.  She sat down and did the work that I had assigned every day, we worked together well on the days when I was teaching her new material, and we bonded over the process.  She learned how to solve 3×2, 4×2, 3×3, and any other multiplication problem.  She started learning Latin and Russian.  She joined an online American Girl book club.  She started learning how to diagram sentences.  She was able to have her private dance lesson during the day which left us with an actual day of rest on Sunday.  She was excited about learning, happy, and only had one headache all week.  It was like the girl I used to know had returned.

I am not so naive as to think it will always be like this.  I know there will be days and weeks when one or both of us tire of the process.  I, however, want to be able to remember this first week and all positive impact this has already made on her.  I know that we have made the right decision as a family and want to be able to reassure myself of that on darker days.

Leave a Reply

