Schooled in Minecraft

Standard

11ba_minecraft_steve_figures_diamond

Count my kids among the legions addicted to Minecraft, or as we call them, Minecrackheads.  Some may say it is bad, but I have to admit that I don’t entirely mind their interest in Minecraft.  For one, part of what they enjoy is the process of creating objects and worlds together.  Brilliant B in particular is quite the creative designer.  If you think about it, they are really learning a lot about spacial relationships, architecture, 3D design, and computer assisted design principles.

I am just learning about servers with classes that use Minecraft, and B is currently enrolled in a class about fractions at Skrafty since the timing happened to match up with where we are in our curriculum right now.  In addition, she also plays on a server that has a themed build every week. Two weeks ago the theme was “books”.  We have been reading the House of Power, and she decided to build the House of Power as she envisioned it.   Take a tour of B’s House of Power (and her little brother L running around inside the house):

 

4 thoughts on “Schooled in Minecraft

  1. my kids love the mine craft classes they are taking online:) took me some time to admit they are actually getting a lot of educational benefit from it but they really are:) Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you stop by again. Loved the House of Power design well done:)

  2. I know a lot of educators are hesitant to acknowledge the benefits of technology, but I really believe that games can be really good learning tools. I think of it as just another way to view a concept and keep an interest in learning. I am amazed by all the creative applications of Minecraft!

  3. I’m probably one of the only people in the world who doesn’t know anything about Minecraft =) I’ve heard of it, but couldn’t tell you any more! I am one who struggles with the place of technology in education. (Note: my son is playing a Veritas Press computer game right now, so I’m not saying we don’t use anything!) I like the break and the fun that electronics offer, but I also see a change in attitude in my son after he does anything electronic, so I’m still trying to figure out what’s best for my family…

Leave a Reply

