Student-Based Assessment

Standard

In the realm of traditional schooling, just about everything relates back to outcome-based learning in some ways.  Often it is measured by standardized testing.  In the university world we are not immune to this, and I shudder on a daily basis about how it is seeping into our ivory towers as well.  In the realm of homeschooling, outcome-based learning is kind of a moot point.  You work with your children every day and probably don’t need a test to tell you whether or not they are learning.  I like to give quizzes at the end of chapters as a way to reassure myself that nothing has been forgotten along the way.

"Outstanding" Evaluation

What I am really interested in evaluating is how well we are doing at this whole homeschooling thing in general.  We’ve been at it for 6 months now, and I am pretty sure I am doing a better job at challenging B and encouraging her curiosity.  Still, I wonder what she thinks.  At the university students evaluate their professors at the end of the semester, and while I don’t want her evaluating me as a teacher I think it is fair to allow B to evaluate her educational experience over the past 6 months.  Here are the questions:

1.  What did you learn this year?

2. What were your favorite things that you did in school? (Don’t say lunch!)

3. What were your least favorite things?

4. If you could change one thing about school, what would it be?

5. What do you want to do more of next year?

6. What do you hope to learn more about next year?

Do you want me to share her answers with you too?  Does anyone else do this at the end of the year?
 

One thought on “Student-Based Assessment

Leave a Reply

